CSTEP Graduation Celebration and Awards

Each year UB CSTEP recognizes the contributions of students, faculty, and staff whose collaborative efforts give depth to the CSTEP motto. That is, “to whom much is given, much is required” — a statement which resonate in those who contribute to the CSTEP mission. CSTEP offers many opportunities for students to establish influential relationships with distinguished faculty, engage in research, community service projects, monthly meetings devoted to honing skills crucial to academic and professional success. As an enrichment program for underrepresented populations pursuing Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM), and the licensed professions, CSTEP takes pride in recognizing their efforts which spillover into enriching the future economy.

Outstanding Service Award

This award is given annually to a staff or faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding service and commitment to the CSTEP program.

2012 Recipient: David Milling, PhD Senior Associate Dean for Student & Academic Affairs Postal: Office of Medical Education

UB CSTEP Outstanding Research Mentor Award

This award is designed to recognize and honor outstanding CSTEP research mentors who have been involved in mentoring, supervising and advising CSTEP undergraduate researchers, and have impacted CSTEP students’ academic and professional careers. This award also recognizes faculty members that support CSTEP’s mission to increase the success of underrepresented populations pursuing Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM), and the licensed professions.

2012 Recipients: Dr. Kevin Burke, Senior Research Scientist/Adjunct Instructor, Electrical Engineering; Dr. Folarin Erogbogbo, Assistant Professor, UB Institute for Lasers, Photonics and Biophotonics; Dr. Qing Ma, Research Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice; Dr. Randall Rasmusson, Professor, Department of Physiology and Biophysics; Dr. Mark Swihart, Acting Director of Graduate Studies, Director, Integrated Nanostructure Systems and Dr. Jennifer Zirnheld, Director and Assistant Professor - Energy Systems Institute

Outstanding Alumni GEM Award

This award was established by CSTEP in 2007, to recognize exceptional alumni who have distinguished themselves as outstanding alumnus in their careers and/or made significant contributions in their communities.

Students of the Year

This award is designed to acknowledge students who have shown dedication and support to the CSTEP program. These individuals truly live up to our motto To Whom Much is Given Much is Required.

2012 Recipients: Chiamaka Agbasionwe, Hector Coco and Shanney Lacey

Graduating Student of the Year

This award was established to recognize a graduating senior who has gone above and beyond expectations and has demonstrated a strong commitment to CSTEP’s mission.

2012 Recipient: Jasmine May

Last updated: February 27, 2017 1:27 pm EST

Contact CPMC

Contact CSTEP